Eagle2Freerouter, replacing brd_to_dsn.ulp

Get support from us or from other users of the router.

Re: Eagle2Freerouter, replacing brd_to_dsn.ulp

Postby Elco » Sat Aug 17, 2013 10:27 am

newhobby wrote:I just downloaded the DSN a couple days ago and used it for the first time.
Thanks for taking on the project :)
I was tired of converting my circles into squares before generating DSN.
Anyway, I made a DSN, which imported just fine on the freerouting app, but I still got the really tiny air wires mentioned on a previous post.
Did I not use it correctly?


[edited 19 Aug]
Newhobby,

What did you use the circle command for? It works for outlines (ie to make round boards). A circle in the signal layers is simply ignored by the DSN generator, so itself cannot generate airwires. When writing back, did you not select 'ripup all'?

Elco.
Elco
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:15 pm

Re: Eagle2Freerouter, replacing brd_to_dsn.ulp

Postby newhobby » Thu Aug 22, 2013 8:48 pm

Attached is the brd, sch, dsn and scr that I'm taking about.
Attachments
ExpansionHub.zip
(100.08 KiB) Downloaded 265 times
newhobby
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:47 am

Re: Eagle2Freerouter, replacing brd_to_dsn.ulp

Postby Elco » Wed Aug 28, 2013 8:05 am

When you are done, before you run the Eagle2Freerouter, set the grid to mm, then run the ULP.
Attached are the DSN and SCR files, made with a quick autoroute. No tiny unrouted wires left.

Elco
Attachments
ExpansionHub2808-1.zip
test
(16.67 KiB) Downloaded 274 times
Elco
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:15 pm

Re: Eagle2Freerouter, replacing brd_to_dsn.ulp

Postby newhobby » Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:13 pm

Ah, ok...
So, I need to set to mm grid for all boards to avoid the tiny wires?
Or this is only in some cases?
I could swear I had boards that generated perfectly good dsn with inch grid.
newhobby
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 4:47 am

Re: Eagle2Freerouter, replacing brd_to_dsn.ulp

Postby Elco » Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:16 pm

Fix uploaded (top post).

Elco
Elco
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:15 pm

Re: Eagle2Freerouter, replacing brd_to_dsn.ulp

Postby Elco » Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:46 pm

new version uploaded, see top post.
Elco
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:15 pm

Re: Eagle2Freerouter, replacing brd_to_dsn.ulp

Postby tonu » Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:22 pm

Using feeerouting service for years and eagle2freerouter.ulp from this page for early days. Now same file started to give syntax error on asin() function arguments. I am sure I have not modified anything. Downloaded latest version 6.2 from January. Again same error, just line number has changed. Eagle is 6.3. I believe nothing has changed in my setup, only Java updates are installed time to time. Any ideas?
tonu
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:14 pm

Re: Eagle2Freerouter, replacing brd_to_dsn.ulp

Postby tonu » Mon Feb 10, 2014 2:23 pm

tonu wrote:Now same file started to give syntax error on asin() function arguments.


Update - problem went away by modifying board in Eagle. No idea why.
tonu
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:14 pm

Re: Eagle2Freerouter, replacing brd_to_dsn.ulp

Postby Elco » Mon Feb 10, 2014 6:44 pm

Interesting. The asin() function is used only in one place, in determining the optimal number of straight segments to represent a curve. As parameter, it gets the square root of a real number, which is calculated using the inverse of the curvature.
An extremely small curve (like 0.001 mil radius) could have created an overflow. There is a check in the code to ignore such small curves (that part of the code is only used used for drawing outlines anyway), but the check is turned off (I don't remember why).
I will enable the check in a next release, but if you have a reproducer I can take a look at it.
It might also have been a Java problem. Not all Java updates were bug free...
Thanks for letting me know.

Elco.
Elco
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:15 pm

Previous

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron